We’re screaming over here! Is He listening?

DSC_0631 DSC_0131

Occasionally, I wonder why it is I believe in God. Often it is my resolve that I would see no point in existing if I lived by a belief that humanity is the highest point of authority. I then close my eyes and scare myself at the thought and possible look of a Godless world- where man and beast have been equalised and let loose at each other. When my eyes finally open, I cannot ignore the realisation that for some of us this is truth. Sometimes man is beast.

Being African, outside of Africa I always felt an implied obligation to defend her against the stereotypes; the poverty; the corruption; the weak institutions; the inequality; the bribery; the tribalism; the ignorance; the brokenness; the struggle; the poaching; the economic divide; the blatant disregard for the law; the inhumanity; the oppression; the sub par quality of education; the danger; the loss of hope; the loss of life. But being an African in Africa for the first time in many years, I realise now I have no defence. I wake up and look out and my first thought everyday is- surely if God knew of this He would have done something. Surely if He saw the suffering, He would end it. I wonder, has God forgotten about Africa or has he chosen to abandon her? Did we do something so despicable or unconscionable to deserve the lives we lead; to be regarded the way we are? Did we not fight hard enough to stop our own colonisation, division, pillaging and enslavement? Did we not suffer enough fighting for our freedom?Β Where was God then and where is He now?

In Kenya alone you can buy a judge, bribe a policeman, massacre your own without so much as a slap on the wrist and still call yourself a leader. Are these not acts of the uncivilised, selfish, greedy and oppressive? Is this not the work of the beast? If so, where does this leave man? More importantly, where do we seek God?

10 Comments

Filed under Africa

10 responses to “We’re screaming over here! Is He listening?

  1. cyberbonn

    great blog πŸ™‚

  2. Kanyiha Mbogori

    Your words, though painful have a hint of truth. However- God is there and works in the most mysterious ways. Watch for them

  3. Perhaps it is your authentic voice and the voice of other brave people through which God can be found? Just a thought. Nice post.

  4. You’ve got this randomer thinking now…
    I think that maybe, things exist which are necessary (basically the whole necessity = mother of invention thing)…so Africa, I believe, will tend to look the way we need it to look. Unnecessary things have a habit of dying away but also sometimes effort and faith are essential. I believe God trusts us to forge our own destinies and loves us regardless. I suppose we Africans find ourselves in the broken part of the ”cause and effect” train but there is a Greek proverb I believe our generation (any generation really) could meditate on:
    ”Society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in.”

  5. Interesting post. I always thought of myself as open-minded. But when I spent a few months in Africa a few years ago I realized I was carrying around misconceptions. Fortunately, as has happened in many other places I’ve visited, I dropped most or all of the stereotypes. But they were replaced with some more genuine negatives. Also many many positives! Africa needs to leave blatant corruption behind. But realize here in America where there are institutions that prohibit that kind of corruption, it still goes on – just as rampantly if not more under-cover. One thing I will say, I saw a lot of optimism in young Africans. I think the biggest stumbling block you face is yourselves. When Africans as a whole come to see themselves as fully capable, when that “second fiddle” mentality is largely gone, then things will improve greatly. Africa is a land of extremes: extreme poverty and wealth sure (same as the rest of the world); extreme beauty and ugliness (again, same here); and so on. But fairly unique is the extreme in attitudes, from the minority who think much too highly of themselves to the majority who think far too little of themselves. One thing that isn’t unique to Africa is all the problems. You have your fair share, but I’ve been places that are worse, and I say that because the people there didn’t seem to have as much going for them as you do. Of course it would take a far longer stay for my opinions of the place to mature, but there it is. Sorry for the overlong comment!

    • Please don’t apologise, I love that you took the time to give me your perspective. I agree with most of what you are saying, and sadly since moving back to Africa after many years away I’ve noticed a cancerous complacency that is at a detriment to any change that could take place. People here seem unwilling to demand better and bad decisions keep being made. I know there is corruption everywhere in the world and bad leaders sprout from all corners of the globe but it’s particularly difficult to see how a continent with so much mineral wealth and potential has not progressed but seems only to regress. I think we need a change in attitude and leadership, we need to get back to basics and tackle the problems we have with civility and integrity. We have to strengthen the institutions that have for so long been incompetent. It’s hard to be optimistic when you see the work that needs to be done, but if we don’t do it, we will not live to see change. I hope you can come back when it’s in a better state, so you can see what we all want so desperately to be our reality πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

