Tasting Freedom

Photo Credit: Little Zoker

I’m looking at a tree and it’s waving at the sky. What has been decreed by the wind, so the leaves and branches must obey. They are slaves to something free; attached to limbs, fastened to bark rooted in the earth. If the wind blows one way these leaves must bow without thought as to what they are offering passive acquiescence. This tree has no mind, only movement, and even that is governed by something separate from itself. As human beings we live to become a version of ourselves that can be substantiated by our experiences, our capabilities and perhaps even our dreams. But I believe it is our limitations that shape what we ultimately become. I believe they are the roots that keep me grounded like the tree; my failures, proof of what I am not and reason to continue the search for my independence and identity. When I am hopeless, in my own way I demonstrate my compliance and lose a little bit of myself. But when I have hope, it is more a dance than a bow and in that moment, however long the privilege lasts- I feel free.

2 Comments

Filed under Short Prose & Poetry

2 responses to “Tasting Freedom

  1. This is a really beautiful blog Kagendo. I follow you on IG & would like to say your writing spirit is lovely – keep writing lioness, I see you!

    – Kato (poetege)

    • K

      Thank you Sir, I follow you too and I really appreciate you taking the time to say something so kind, means a whole lot ❤

Leave a Reply

